Pradhan launches OIL’s 20-mw gas-based power plant at Duliajan

Pradhan launches OIL’s 20-mw gas-based power plant at Duliajan

Oil India Ltd (OIL), our second largest national petroleum and natural gas exploration and production (E&P) company, has achieved another milestone towards its goal of becoming a sustainability-driven integrated energy multinational corporation (MNC). It has successfully completed the installation and commissioning of its 20-mw gas-based power plant at its fields headquarters in Duliajan, Assam.

The gas-based power plant was inaugurated at the OIL Industrial area in Duliajan by Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Petroleum & Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan in the presence of OIL Chairman & Managing Director S K Srivastava, the company’s functional directors and other senior Oil officers.

Speaking on the occasion, Pradhan congratulated Oil India Ltd for the achievement. The 20-mw Bhel-made gas turbine generator with state-of-the-art technology was commissioned in July 2014 at the OIL Industrial area in Duliajan.

This captive power plant will be a part of OIL’s Duliajan Power Station and will phase out the two old Westinghouse-made 14.45-mw gas turbine generators commissioned in 1977.

Power from the new 20-mw gas turbine generator would be utilised to meet the requirement of OIL’s industrial loads such as those in gas compressor stations, oil collecting stations, water injection stations, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) plant, crude oil pump stations and water supply.

Share Button