Promotion of Compressed Natural Gas

Petroleum & Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB) is the authority to grant authorization to the entities for the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network in Geographical Areas (GAs) as per PNGRB Act, 2006.  PNGRB identifies GAs for authorizing the development of CGD network in synchronization with the development of natural gas pipeline connectivity, natural gas availability and techno-commercial viability. Establishment of CNG Stations is a part of development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) Network by an authorized entity. The authorized entities are committed to set up CNG Stations as per Minimum Work Program in authorized GAs. There are about 2,543 operational CNG Stations in the country as on 30.11.2020. State wise list of CNG stations are at Annexure. So far 232 Geographical Areas (GAs) havebeen authorized for development of CGD network across country up to 10th CGD Bidding Round covering more than 400 districts in the country in 27 States/Union Territories (UTs).


PNGRB has authorized Indraprashtha Gas Limited (IGL) to develop CGD network in National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT),Torrent Gas Private Limited to Alwar (other than Bhiwadi) district and  Haryana City Gas Distribution (Bhiwadi) Limited to Bhiwadi (in Alwar District)  of Rajsthan. Further, Bharatpur district of Rajasthan is covered under Firozabad (Taj Trapezium Zone) GA authorized to GAIL Gas Limited. At present, 421 CNG stations are operational in NCT of Delhi, 1 (one) CNG station is operational in Alwar District and 4 CNG Stations are operational in Bharatpur district in Rajasthan. The authorized entities set up CNG stations as per Minimum Work Program in authorized GAs as per techno-commercial viability, including in Gujarat.

Posted On: 08 FEB 2021 5:15PM by PIB Delhi

Share Button

Leave a Reply